top of page

Buying a used iPhone? Check for Activation Lock before you buy a device from someone else

Before you buy an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch from someone other than Apple or an Apple Authorised Reseller, make sure the device has been erased and is no longer linked to the previous owner's account.



On a device with iOS or iPadOS 15 or later that is protected by Activation Lock, you'll see an "iPhone Locked to Owner" screen when you turn on or wake the device. Don't take ownership of any used iPhone, iPad or iPod touch if it's protected by Activation Lock. 

If you haven't seen that screen, follow these steps to check if the device is ready to use: 

  1. Turn on and unlock the device. 

  2. If the passcode Lock Screen or the Home Screen appears, the device hasn't been erased. Ask the seller to follow the steps below to erase the device completely. Don't take ownership of a used iPhone, iPad or iPod touch until it's been erased.

  3. Start the device setup process.

  4. If you're asked for the previous owner's Apple ID and password, the device is still linked to their account. Hand the device back to the seller and ask them to enter their password. If the previous owner isn't present, contact them as soon as possible and ask them to use a browser to remove the device from their account. Don't take ownership of a used iPhone, iPad or iPod touch until it's been removed from the previous owner's account.

When you see the Hello screen, this indicates the device is ready for you to use.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page